Did You Invent God?

inventions

 

I am an inventor. Well at least I would like to think I am. I have tried many attempts at many different creations. I constantly think in my mind how can I make something quicker, faster, better, smarter, sharper, or more user friendly. Ultimately, when it comes down to it, I realize that I am usually not creating something BRAND new, but rather improving on technology that already exists. I always get excited when I finally come up with that one idea that I feel like will really go well with the people I introduce the invention to. The problem comes in when they point out all the problems with my ideas. They knock many holes into to it, leaving me discouraged and maybe even slightly embarrassed. I often wonder, “Why didn’t I think of the thoughts that they gave me?”

 

Too often I believe we try to invent God the same way. We make God the god of our own choosing rather than the God of the Scriptures. In Matthew 21, Jesus was making His final entry into Jerusalem for His last week of His life! Christ orchestrated this week from the very beginning. This was Passover week and Christ orchestrated everything this week, from the week that it was, to the day that He rode into Jerusalem, to the people that would be there, to the very day that He would die.

 

What is interesting about this passage is that the Jews shouted from the mountain tops that indeed this Christ was not just a savior, but the Savior. He was the Messiah! In Matthew 21:9 the Bible says, “And the crowds that went before him and that followed him were shouting, ‘Hosanna to the Son of David! Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord! Hosanna in the highest!”’ What is interesting about this phrase is that Hosanna means “Save Now!” And to follow they called Him the “Son of David” This phrase is a Messianic Title for the Messiah, the Savior of Souls! This was not just any title, but the title of the Savior of the world. The Jews indeed knew that this truly was the True Messiah, the True Savior of the World.  They just did understand this King and His Kingdom.

 

However, the Jews did not see Him as a Savior of their souls, but they were looking for a king or a savior of the city of Jerusalem. They were looking for a conqueror. They were looking for someone to conquer Rome. Further on this point, the palm branches that they put down symbolize a conqueror. Christ did not come to make war. He came to make peace. An eternal peace through an eternal Salvation.

 

Too often, just like these Jews, we make God the god of our liking rather than the God of the Bible. We invent what we think God should be. The only truth is that we need to make sure that our God, is the God of the Word. Not making God, the God of our fleshly desires and lusts. When we have the wrong view of God, everything else in our world will also have the wrong perspective.

 

For more information please go to http://FirestoneBaptist.com/

Leave a Reply

